Christmas Eve Post! NEW Felix Cartel (3 days) featuring Natalie Anguili – Lullaby; Chicago newcomer Topher Jones with Amanda ft. Ido vs. The World – Hello Chicago; & Jordon Postrel & K-Razer’s NEW Heart’s Not Made of Gold (6 days). All fresh and FUNKY! PS: Jjoo & Kevin Charm rmx’d Above & Beyond – Superlegerra.

Merry Xmas Eve to those who celebrate =) Happy holidays otherwise. This is just going to be a quickie; I’m off to traditional French mass in an hour (er……) which is a little exciting.. And then Christmas Day in Monte Carlo tomorrow, which is totally funky. Unfortunately, I have to admit, I was a little disappointed by a few of my favourite producer’s Christmas releases; but I bet many of them were rushed to release something on Christmas. However, these three tracks, released over the last few days, are all fantastic and very funky =). (I feel like Austin Powers saying funky all the time, ‘kept he said Groovy.. but you get the idea).

Anyway. Here’s a new one by Felix Cartel released three days ago, featuring Natalie Anguili. Natalie’s beautiful voice shines clear on through the throbbing beats during vocal rifts, and with some trappy vocal play by Cartel, the whole ensemble is very groovy. It’s a smooth house song with a great electro melody. Enjoy it.

Okay. Here’s a name that might be new to some of you, Topher Jones. This song was released about a month ago. Topher, a Chicago DJ with a small but respectable SoundCloud following has been coming out with some great Progressive House remixes over the last year or so. Hello Chicago with Amanda ft. Ido vs. The World is another fantastic vocal-forward track. I think it goes perfectly with Cartel’s release above. It’s got a fun, funky beat, definitely a feel-good track, with clean vocals and really funky lead-ups to some melody-heavy drops. Rarely interspersed electro riffs lean the track closer to EDM than indie, but it navigates a fine line and does so really well. I’ve been really enjoying it, I think you will too. I’ve been singing “Hellooooo, Chicaggooo, I’ve been waiting all my liiiiife” all day.

Finally, Jordan Postrel & K-Razer’s Heart Not Made of Gold. Both Postrel and K-Razer, I have to admit, are entirely new to me. I grabbed this remix off another blog, EDM Sauce (a regular source of mine). Their sound is really funky. They does great vocal work – modulation, repetition, trap – it works into their song so well, and it’s a really jazzy mix. They’ve labeled it as ‘indiedance / nudisco’ on his soundcloud, and they’re absolutely right to include all three genres. The vocals and vocal play is definitely indie, the beats are solid enough for dance and definitely funky enough for nudisco. It’s a great track, and two artists that I imagine is new to  most. Released just six days ago, and the only song on Postrel’s SoundCloud page, Heart’s Not Made of Gold is definitely finding its way into my jazz / lounge house playlists.

  • Funky Monkey Music c( . . )o

PS:

Here’s a little trance house for you, brand new from Jjoo and Kevin Charm, Superlegerra; the embedded song is an Above and Beyond Radio Edit. Enjoy.

About chrigg

Hey everybody. I'm an audiophile, which means that I love music. The goal for my blog, funkymonkeymusic.wordpress.com, is to bring funky, fresh new tunes from around the world to my friends and followers. If you're an artist, producer or DJ, feel free to send me your funky new tracks, and I'll gladly feature them on my humble music blog. Cheers to all. - Funky Monkey Music c( . . )o
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment